Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Pod Key Users

  1. Yolanda Robla <yroblamo@redhat.com> . PTL
  2. Frank Zdarsky <fzdarsky@redhat.com > . Member of Akraino TSC
  3. Ricardo Noriega <rnoriega@redhat.com>

Pod Users

  1. Yolanda Robla <yroblamo@redhat.com>
  2. Frank Zdarsky <fzdarsky@redhat.com>
  3. Ricardo Noriega <rnoriega@redhat.com>
  4. Jennifer Koerg <jenny.koerv@intel.com>
  5. Sukhdev Kapur <sukhdevkapur@gmail.com>
  6. Andrew Bays <abays@redhat.com>
  7. Justin Scott <justin.a.scott@intel.com>
  8. Mikko Ylinen <mikko.ylinen@intel.com>
  9. Craig Sterrett <craig.sterrett@intel.com>
  10. Ned Smith <ned.smith@intel.com>
  11. Tapio Tallgren <tapio.tallgren@nokia.com>
  12. David Lyle <dklyle@gmail.com>

Topology Requirements


Switch configuration

We need 3 different vlans:

  • 3008 for external network: needs to be tagged, and is only present on jumphost
  • 3009 for baremetal: tagged on jumphost, untagged on masters/workers
  • 3010 for pxe: untagged in all servers

Configuration of the switch needs to be done modifying /etc/sonic/config_db.json. Here is the relevant portion for VLANS:

"VLAN": {

"Vlan3008": {

"members": [

"Ethernet20",

"Ethernet252"

],

"vlanid": "3008",

"admin_status": "up"

},

"Vlan3009": {

"members": [

"Ethernet20",

"Ethernet28",

"Ethernet36",

"Ethernet44"

],

"vlanid": "3009",

"admin_status": "up"

},

"Vlan3010": {

"members": [

"Ethernet16",

"Ethernet24",

"Ethernet32",

"Ethernet40"

],

"vlanid": "3010",

"admin_status": "up"

}

},

"VLAN_INTERFACE": {

"Vlan3008|10.11.8.2/24": {},

"Vlan3009|192.168.111.49/24": {},

"Vlan3010|172.22.0.99/24": {}

},

"VLAN_MEMBER": {

"Vlan3008|Ethernet20": {

"tagging_mode": "tagged"

},

"Vlan3008|Ethernet252": {

"tagging_mode": "tagged"

},

"Vlan3010|Ethernet16": {

"tagging_mode": "untagged"

},

"Vlan3010|Ethernet24": {

"tagging_mode": "untagged"

},

"Vlan3010|Ethernet32": {

"tagging_mode": "untagged"

},

"Vlan3010|Ethernet40": {

"tagging_mode": "untagged"

},

"Vlan3009|Ethernet20": {

"tagging_mode": "tagged"

},

"Vlan3009|Ethernet28": {

"tagging_mode": "untagged"

},

"Vlan3009|Ethernet36": {

"tagging_mode": "untagged"

},

"Vlan3009|Ethernet44": {

"tagging_mode": "untagged"

}

}

}

In order to make untagged vlans work on SONIC, the entries need to be created in VLAN section, but also the ports that are members of the VLAN need to be removed from the Interface section, and from the BGP Neighbor section.

  • No labels